The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition
Apr 112015
 

This week at Reviewed.com, we had our hands full with a slew of new gadgets. Most notably, we saw the return of the best headphones we’ve ever tested. They had big shoes to fill, but lived up to their predecessors by earning a singular score of 10.0. Some other products we tried out included a relatively inexpensive new robot vacuum from NeatO that was…well, neat, and a new pair of on-ear headphones from Sony.
In our news and features department, we learned that lab-grown meat has fallen in price by more than $300,000 – but we’re still not convinced we want one. We also covered a robot that can print pancakes in a variety of artful patterns, toy kitchens that got a grown up redesign, and a restaurant that served up some garbage (and people ate it, happily).
Lab-grown burgers get a $325,000+ price cut
When lab-grown beef made its debut in 2013, you’d have to plunk down some hefty change for one – around $325,000, actually. That’s a lot of money for something we’re not sure we wanted to try in the first place. Now, thanks to a new technique for creating “meat” developed by Dutch scientists, that price has fallen considerably to a more reasonable $11 per burger. But will that be enough to entice people to eat fake meat?
Return of the king: These headphones are the best around
Beyerdynamic’s Custom One Pro earned the title of best headphones on the market from us last year, and the latest iteration of these headphones – the Custom One Pro Plus – improves on an already great thing by doubling down on the “custom” part of their title. The audio hardware is practically identical to last year, but now you can add faceplates (that look a lot like pogs) for extra personality on your headphones.
PancakeBot prints breakfasts too pretty to eat
The PancakeBot is a Kickstarter-backed 3D printer that can print pancakes into nearly any pattern. You simply download any image you like onto your computer, and use the PancakeBot software to trace the image. The printer then does the rest of the work for you by printing out your artful pancakes. Its creator even acknowledged its one flaw: The pancakes look so nice, you won’t want to eat them.
Neato Robo vacuum looks straight from the 90s
This robot vacuum from Neato satisfies at least one criteria for buying one: At around $320 online, its price is pretty appealing. It offers a unique, nostalgia-friendly appearance as well – its grey and purple exterior might recall toys from the 90s (like a Super Nintendo, for example). As for its cleaning abilities, it’s certainly powerful and picks up dirt, but it’s heavy and often lacks the agility to maneuver around furniture effectively.
Toy kitchens are getting a high-end renovation
You may have fond memories of making pizza and hamburgers out of Play-Doh as a kid. Well, as adult food has become more sophisticated, kids’ toy kitchens have followed suit. Toy kitchen-makers like KidKraft and Sears have rolled out souped-up kitchen sets for kids that feature (fake) stainless steel appliances and food options that include fake chocolate fondue and toy crepes.
New monitor fills a niche for animators
BenQ is a company known for their high-end gaming monitors, but now it’s branching out into another specialized domain: monitors for animators and designers. If those labels describes you, you’ll find a lot to like with this monitor. At $1,099, this monitor is also cheaper than we’d expect for a 32-inch monitor of this caliber. Ultimately, the image quality could be better, but you’re still getting a good deal if you’re an animator or editor.
Let them eat waste: Chefs turn trash into fine dining
A restaurant in New York City offered a novel ingredient on its menu: garbage. Well, sort of. For a little over two weeks in March, it served up food that would normally be discarded by restaurants, to illustrate how much food is wasted on a daily basis. Dishes served included juice pulp burgers and fried skate cartilage. (Yum?) In the process, it also managed to earn rave reviews.
Sony MDR-V55 on-ear headphones
On-ear headphones aren’t exactly known for their audio quality, and this new pair from won’t exactly change that perception. Where these do shine is in their appearance �?? with a slick black and red look, you’ll at least look stylish as you wear them. And at $79, they’re a fairly solid budget option. Just don’t expect to get sound quality that’ll satisfy you if you’re an audiophile.
Do you really need a robot vacuum?
Vacuuming robots have captured our imagination since Rosie the Robot of Jetsons fame, but now they’re increasingly becoming part of our homes. We get around to the question of whether you should actually buy one, and the answer is…well, it’s complicated. There are a variety of factors to consider, including the type of flooring you have, the size of your living space, your physical ability to vacuum, and more.
Copyright 2015USAToday
Read the original story: The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

Continued here: The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition
Apr 112015
 

This week at Reviewed.com, we had our hands full with a slew of new gadgets. Most notably, we saw the return of the best headphones we’ve ever tested. They had big shoes to fill, but lived up to their predecessors by earning a singular score of 10.0. Some other products we tried out included a relatively inexpensive new robot vacuum from NeatO that was…well, neat, and a new pair of on-ear headphones from Sony.
In our news and features department, we learned that lab-grown meat has fallen in price by more than $300,000 – but we’re still not convinced we want one. We also covered a robot that can print pancakes in a variety of artful patterns, toy kitchens that got a grown up redesign, and a restaurant that served up some garbage (and people ate it, happily).
Lab-grown burgers get a $325,000+ price cut
When lab-grown beef made its debut in 2013, you’d have to plunk down some hefty change for one – around $325,000, actually. That’s a lot of money for something we’re not sure we wanted to try in the first place. Now, thanks to a new technique for creating “meat” developed by Dutch scientists, that price has fallen considerably to a more reasonable $11 per burger. But will that be enough to entice people to eat fake meat?
Return of the king: These headphones are the best around
Beyerdynamic’s Custom One Pro earned the title of best headphones on the market from us last year, and the latest iteration of these headphones – the Custom One Pro Plus – improves on an already great thing by doubling down on the “custom” part of their title. The audio hardware is practically identical to last year, but now you can add faceplates (that look a lot like pogs) for extra personality on your headphones.
PancakeBot prints breakfasts too pretty to eat
The PancakeBot is a Kickstarter-backed 3D printer that can print pancakes into nearly any pattern. You simply download any image you like onto your computer, and use the PancakeBot software to trace the image. The printer then does the rest of the work for you by printing out your artful pancakes. Its creator even acknowledged its one flaw: The pancakes look so nice, you won’t want to eat them.
Neato Robo vacuum looks straight from the 90s
This robot vacuum from Neato satisfies at least one criteria for buying one: At around $320 online, its price is pretty appealing. It offers a unique, nostalgia-friendly appearance as well – its grey and purple exterior might recall toys from the 90s (like a Super Nintendo, for example). As for its cleaning abilities, it’s certainly powerful and picks up dirt, but it’s heavy and often lacks the agility to maneuver around furniture effectively.
Toy kitchens are getting a high-end renovation
You may have fond memories of making pizza and hamburgers out of Play-Doh as a kid. Well, as adult food has become more sophisticated, kids’ toy kitchens have followed suit. Toy kitchen-makers like KidKraft and Sears have rolled out souped-up kitchen sets for kids that feature (fake) stainless steel appliances and food options that include fake chocolate fondue and toy crepes.
New monitor fills a niche for animators
BenQ is a company known for their high-end gaming monitors, but now it’s branching out into another specialized domain: monitors for animators and designers. If those labels describes you, you’ll find a lot to like with this monitor. At $1,099, this monitor is also cheaper than we’d expect for a 32-inch monitor of this caliber. Ultimately, the image quality could be better, but you’re still getting a good deal if you’re an animator or editor.
Let them eat waste: Chefs turn trash into fine dining
A restaurant in New York City offered a novel ingredient on its menu: garbage. Well, sort of. For a little over two weeks in March, it served up food that would normally be discarded by restaurants, to illustrate how much food is wasted on a daily basis. Dishes served included juice pulp burgers and fried skate cartilage. (Yum?) In the process, it also managed to earn rave reviews.
Sony MDR-V55 on-ear headphones
On-ear headphones aren’t exactly known for their audio quality, and this new pair from won’t exactly change that perception. Where these do shine is in their appearance �?? with a slick black and red look, you’ll at least look stylish as you wear them. And at $79, they’re a fairly solid budget option. Just don’t expect to get sound quality that’ll satisfy you if you’re an audiophile.
Do you really need a robot vacuum?
Vacuuming robots have captured our imagination since Rosie the Robot of Jetsons fame, but now they’re increasingly becoming part of our homes. We get around to the question of whether you should actually buy one, and the answer is…well, it’s complicated. There are a variety of factors to consider, including the type of flooring you have, the size of your living space, your physical ability to vacuum, and more.
Copyright 2015USAToday
Read the original story: The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

See the rest here: The week in Reviewed: Lab-grown burger edition

No products found.

AWEI ES600M In-Ear Headphones Review

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on AWEI ES600M In-Ear Headphones Review
Apr 092015
 

AWEI is known for its affordable in-ear headphones with decent sound quality, as we have shown you in our previous reviews. The ES600M, for one, is a product that may want to be your next audio accessory for less than Php300. Is it worthy of your admiration and your purchase?

Design and construction
The ES600M offers itself in a plastic, glossy black housing with flat, matte black cables for a tangle-free experience. Its buds are available in three different sizes with corresponding colors: black, blue, and red. They’re generally comfortable and they stay secured even when you move, but it might be irritating or painful to use after a long time of listening.

It also has a gold-plated standard 3.5mm jack, and includes a leather pouch is also available for good safekeeping, something amiss from audio accessories at this price range. The cord length is enough to put your device at the pockets of your pants. If you’re concerned with handsfree calls, bad news: the ES600M does not have a microphone nor button controls.

I’ve also had a fair share of gripes with it. I find the earbud rubber tips hard to put back after it had detached from the nozzle. The labels printed on the housing differentiating left and right channels may be hard to read for some, as it is small and might need a really good close look.
Sound Quality
Like other ones we’ve reviewed, the ES600M delivers whole, powerful bass. The sound stage is moderately wide, and offers great noise isolation to the point that my colleagues often tap me to get my attention. The highs and lows are really good, but the mids offer a contrast as it gets a bit muddy right there.

Some guitar riffs sound a bit synthesized and a few electronic synths feel a bit aggressive that make them distorted. You might hear too much treble on some tracks which makes it overpowering. Sibilance may resonate on some music genre, but the overall sound reproduction is capable of producing reasonably clear sounds.
Conclusion

For Php280, there’s no denying that AWEI has produced a decently-sounding in-ear headphone that’s great for casual listening in the form of the ES600M. You may not get in-line controls, but the tangle-free cable is a good reason not to snag a pair of these. If you’re all about that bass (and not the overpowering treble), this is a great buy without having to break the bank.
AWEI ES600M specs:Drive: 8mmSensitivity: 90dB +/- 3dBImpedance: 16ohm +/- 15%Frequency response: 20Hz~20KHz3.5mm Audio plugCable length: 1.2mAvailable (housing) colors: Red, Black
What we liked about it:* Good bass* Tangle-free flat cables* Good build* Really affordable price* Comes with a carrying pouch
What we didn’t like:* Overbearing trebles* No in-line microphones nor controls* Mids sound a bit muddy
The Awei ES600M is available at Droidhero.ph and www.fb.com/droidhero and participating Novo7tech branches: Lucky China Town Mall Binondo, SM Southmall Las-Pinas, Sm BF Paranaque, and Gateway Cubao.

Originally posted here: AWEI ES600M In-Ear Headphones Review

No products found.

Why you want Apple Watch to succeed

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Why you want Apple Watch to succeed
Apr 092015
 

Apr 08, 2015 – 05:15 PM EDT — AAPL: 125.60 (-0.41, -0.33%) | NASDAQ: 4950.82 (+40.59, +0.83%)

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 · 8:52 pm · 22 Comments

When Apple begins taking Apple Watch “pre-orders tomorrow, diehard Apple fans will clamor for Cupertino’s latest signature product,” Julia Greenberg writes for Wired. “They will harbor grand hopes for its possibilities. That’s the power Apple has. The Apple II changed how we use computers forever. The iPod (and iTunes) revolutionized music. The iPhone is ubiquitous and essential. Because this is Apple, we can’t help but measure the Watch against those immense successes. To triumph, it must be more than a normal, expensive accessory, like well-crafted headphones.”
“But what if the non-diehards decide that’s all the Apple Watch is? If lukewarm early reviews keep consumers out of stores, or if major glitches alienate early adopters, the Apple Watch could be a bust, at least by Apple standards,” Greenberg writes. “Even with record revenues and a gilded image, such a hit would hurt Apple. The funny thing is, it could end up hurting us even more.”
“A flop could bring us more of the same,” Greenberg writes. “A big win could encourage Apple to be even bolder.”
Read more in the full article here.

MacDailyNews Take: Apple Watch will not “flop.” Quite the contrary. Watch and see.

[Thanks to MacDailyNews Reader “Dan K.” for the heads up.]
Related articles:Daring Fireball’s Gruber on a week with Apple Watch – April 8, 2015Tech.pinions’ Ben Bajarin reviews Apple Watch: ‘Powerful’ and ‘completely new’ – April 8, 2015WSJ’s Stern reviews Apple Watch: ‘Good looks and coolness’ – April 8, 2015The Verge’s Patel reviews Apple Watch: ‘A masterpiece of engineering’ – April 8, 2015WSJ’s Fowler reviews Apple Watch: ‘The first smartwatch worth buying’ – April 8, 2015Yahoo Tech’s Pogue reviews Apple Watch: ‘Magical’New York Times’ Manjoo reviews Apple Watch: ‘A power you can’t live without’ – April 8, 2015Bloomberg’s Topolsky reviews Apple Watch: ‘The world’s best smartwatch’ – April 8, 2015USA Today’s Baig reviews Apple Watch: ‘Second to none; I want one’ – April 8, 2015

Continue reading here: Why you want Apple Watch to succeed

No products found.

I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage
Apr 082015
 

(Steve Kovach/Business Insider)I’m a die-hard defender of wearables.
Back in September, when I made the switch — one that I regret — to a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from my dead iPhone 5, I decided to get a smartwatch.
After doing a bunch of research, I decided to get the Samsung Gear Fit.
As I’ve written, I absolutely love this thing. I paid $107 for it, and feel like it’s worth every penny.
Notifications are fantastic — short, sweet, comprehensive, and customizable.
Its curved screen and bright display are stylish and attractive. Fitness tracking isn’t perfect, but very solid.
For $100, it’s a great smartwatch, and I don’t feel comfortable going anywhere without it.
Apple Watch reviews came out in full force on Wednesday, and we’re getting our best viewpoint yet of what this thing is going to be like to use. Many of the reviews are largely skeptical and tip the scales negative.
I’ve read many of the reviews and took their criticisms into account. If I’m convinced of one thing, it’s this: The Apple Watch is going to be amazing.
The Sport version of the Apple Watch is three times the price of my smartwatch but packs 20 times the looks, 20 times the functionality, and 20 times the technology. It seems like a fantastic device.

(Apple)
Don’t blame Apple
I also think it’s worth noting that many reviewers criticisms are criticisms of wearables generally. This is a new way to communicate that lives with you, and it takes getting used to.
Apple isn’t reinventing the wheel; it’s making the wheel gorgeous and fun.
For example, let’s take Joshua Topolsky’s comment at Bloomberg Business, noting how the buzzing on his wrist distracts and annoys him.
He writes:
I’m in a meeting with 14 people, in mid-sentence, when I feel a tap-tap-tap on my wrist … A version of this happens dozens of times throughout the day—for messages, e-mails, activity achievements, tweets, and so much more. Wait a second. Isn’t the promise of the Apple Watch to help me stay in the moment, focused on the people around me and undisturbed by the mesmerizing void of my iPhone? So why do I suddenly feel so distracted?
This has very little to do with the actual Apple Watch and more just adjusting to the technology in general. Trust me, as someone who has used a smartwatch with notifications for the better part of a year, the buzzing is fantastic.
Lance Ulanoff noted and described the idea of “glances” very well in his review on Mashable. The point is to just see the notifications you want to see briefly without having to interact. It’s not about experiencing and dealing with a plethora of notifications; it’s about just acknowledging them and choosing to either do nothing or take action. It’s up to you — more choices, less fumbling.
We learned to deal with smartphones buzzing and distracting us, and we will learn to live with this invention as well. Not to mention that the experience is customizable.
Your browser does not support the video tag. Apple
It’s about perspective
Another great example is Re/code’s Lauren Goode who says the Watch isn’t very fashionable. “Apple Watch strives for high fashion, but it still looks like a techie watch,” she wrote.
In April 2015, that may be true. But what about all the people around the world who are already wearing these things? Isn’t it really a matter of perspective? The Apple Watch is clearly much more beautiful than my smartwatch or any of the other devices in the marketplace now.
I’m sure there were plenty of people in the ’90s who thought glaring white headphones growing out of everyone’s ears were ugly and looked “techie.” Instead, it became a status symbol, one that helped build Apple’s brand to the pinnacle of consumer technology.
Much of the other criticisms of the Apple Watch at this stage have to do with early bugs, points that will more than likely be fixed within a few months.
Your browser does not support the video tag. Apple
It’s going to be huge
The Apple Watch may cost three times or more as my Samsung Gear Fit, but it seems so much better that it’ll likely justify the cost. As much as love the Gear Fit, it still can’t accept voice commands, use maps, and do a lot of the other things the Apple Watch can do. I love it to death, but I want more.
The best thing about owning a smartwatch is counterintuitive. You add an extra device to your daily life to make gadgets take up less of your time in general. I choose what notifications I see, I take them in easily, and make a decision of how to react sooner.
Based on what I’ve learned using my Samsung watch, I can tell the Apple Watch needs to get on people’s wrists in order for them to see the real benefit of owning a wearable. I can see it becoming an irresistible device for anyone with an iPhone.
NOW WATCH: Here’s Tim Cook answering all your questions about the Apple Watch
More From Business InsiderInformation Technology
Apple Watch

See the article here: I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage

No products found.

I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage
Apr 082015
 

(Steve Kovach/Business Insider)I’m a die-hard defender of wearables.
Back in September, when I made the switch — one that I regret — to a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from my dead iPhone 5, I decided to get a smartwatch.
After doing a bunch of research, I decided to get the Samsung Gear Fit.
As I’ve written, I absolutely love this thing. I paid $107 for it, and feel like it’s worth every penny.
Notifications are fantastic — short, sweet, comprehensive, and customizable.
Its curved screen and bright display are stylish and attractive. Fitness tracking isn’t perfect, but very solid.
For $100, it’s a great smartwatch, and I don’t feel comfortable going anywhere without it.
Apple Watch reviews came out in full force on Wednesday, and we’re getting our best viewpoint yet of what this thing is going to be like to use. Many of the reviews are largely skeptical and tip the scales negative.
I’ve read many of the reviews and took their criticisms into account. If I’m convinced of one thing, it’s this: The Apple Watch is going to be amazing.
The Sport version of the Apple Watch is three times the price of my smartwatch but packs 20 times the looks, 20 times the functionality, and 20 times the technology. It seems like a fantastic device.

(Apple)
Don’t blame Apple
I also think it’s worth noting that many reviewers criticisms are criticisms of wearables generally. This is a new way to communicate that lives with you, and it takes getting used to.
Apple isn’t reinventing the wheel; it’s making the wheel gorgeous and fun.
For example, let’s take Joshua Topolsky’s comment at Bloomberg Business, noting how the buzzing on his wrist distracts and annoys him.
He writes:
I’m in a meeting with 14 people, in mid-sentence, when I feel a tap-tap-tap on my wrist … A version of this happens dozens of times throughout the day—for messages, e-mails, activity achievements, tweets, and so much more. Wait a second. Isn’t the promise of the Apple Watch to help me stay in the moment, focused on the people around me and undisturbed by the mesmerizing void of my iPhone? So why do I suddenly feel so distracted?
This has very little to do with the actual Apple Watch and more just adjusting to the technology in general. Trust me, as someone who has used a smartwatch with notifications for the better part of a year, the buzzing is fantastic.
Lance Ulanoff noted and described the idea of “glances” very well in his review on Mashable. The point is to just see the notifications you want to see briefly without having to interact. It’s not about experiencing and dealing with a plethora of notifications; it’s about just acknowledging them and choosing to either do nothing or take action. It’s up to you — more choices, less fumbling.
We learned to deal with smartphones buzzing and distracting us, and we will learn to live with this invention as well. Not to mention that the experience is customizable.
Your browser does not support the video tag. Apple
It’s about perspective
Another great example is Re/code’s Lauren Goode who says the Watch isn’t very fashionable. “Apple Watch strives for high fashion, but it still looks like a techie watch,” she wrote.
In April 2015, that may be true. But what about all the people around the world who are already wearing these things? Isn’t it really a matter of perspective? The Apple Watch is clearly much more beautiful than my smartwatch or any of the other devices in the marketplace now.
I’m sure there were plenty of people in the ’90s who thought glaring white headphones growing out of everyone’s ears were ugly and looked “techie.” Instead, it became a status symbol, one that helped build Apple’s brand to the pinnacle of consumer technology.
Much of the other criticisms of the Apple Watch at this stage have to do with early bugs, points that will more than likely be fixed within a few months.
Your browser does not support the video tag. Apple
It’s going to be huge
The Apple Watch may cost three times or more as my Samsung Gear Fit, but it seems so much better that it’ll likely justify the cost. As much as love the Gear Fit, it still can’t accept voice commands, use maps, and do a lot of the other things the Apple Watch can do. I love it to death, but I want more.
The best thing about owning a smartwatch is counterintuitive. You add an extra device to your daily life to make gadgets take up less of your time in general. I choose what notifications I see, I take them in easily, and make a decision of how to react sooner.
Based on what I’ve learned using my Samsung watch, I can tell the Apple Watch needs to get on people’s wrists in order for them to see the real benefit of owning a wearable. I can see it becoming an irresistible device for anyone with an iPhone.
NOW WATCH: Here’s Tim Cook answering all your questions about the Apple Watch
More From Business InsiderInformation Technology
Apple Watch

See the original post here: I’ve been using a smartwatch for months, and the Apple Watch makes mine look like garbage

No products found.

You Want the Apple Watch to Succeed

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on You Want the Apple Watch to Succeed
Apr 082015
 

Apple Watch reviews hit the internet today and the response is mixed. Although people praise its build quality, styling, and gorgeous screen—and say it does indeed help you use your phone less—critics complain the Watch is glitchy. Slow. Its battery life sucks. Apps take too long to load, if they load at all. You might want one, but you don’t need one. It’s not for everyone. And, for what it is, it’s expensive—much too expensive.
Nevertheless, when the company begins taking pre-orders tomorrow, diehard Apple fans will clamor for Cupertino’s latest signature product. They will harbor grand hopes for its possibilities. That’s the power Apple has. The Apple II changed how we use computers forever. The iPod (and iTunes) revolutionized music. The iPhone is ubiquitous and essential. Because this is Apple, we can’t help but measure the Watch against those immense successes. To triumph, it must be more than a normal, expensive accessory, like well-crafted headphones.
But what if the non-diehards decide that’s all the Apple Watch is? If lukewarm early reviews keep consumers out of stores, or if major glitches alienate early adopters, the Apple Watch could be a bust, at least by Apple standards. Even with record revenues and a gilded image, such a hit would hurt Apple. The funny thing is, it could end up hurting us even more.
A flop could bring us more of the same. A big win could inspire a new round of dreaming.
Time and Money
As the most valuable company in the world, Apple is flush with cash. The company’s global sales grow every year, led by the hugely popular iPhone (Apple has sold more than 700 million phones since it launched in 2007). So, even if the Watch isn’t as popular, Apple’s finances will be just fine. The company’s stock price could falter, but it’s hard to imagine investors staying away for long.
Still, Apple can’t grow forever on iPhones and MacBooks alone, and iPad sales already are stagnant. To maintain dynamic growth, the company needs diehards and regular consumers alike to buy stuff as often as possible—and it must have new, diverse options available, not just upgrades. Apple already has shown interest in expanding into new consumer goods, as with its acquisition last year of Beats—a move meant to correct the colossal failure of iTunes Radio. But headphones and music streaming aren’t the same as a new flagship device to drive the kind of massive growth shareholders have come to expect as a given from Apple.
Even if Apple’s growth isn’t immediately stunted, the company has invested years of research and resources into the Watch. Within the company, the hit to morale would be huge. Jony Ive, Apple’s senior vice president of design, has been dreaming of the Watch since 2011. His team has spent nearly four years designing it, developing the technology, and creating its many customizable options.
And the company is likely still working now. Ive has suggested his team works on future iterations of a product far before they are ready for the market, so it’s safe to assume Apple already is tinkering with a Watch 2. But if consumers don’t want the Watch, recouping that investment of time, money, and manpower will be for tough. While Apple may be working on other prototypes, it would need another consumer-ready design to which it could quickly pivot to shore up its losses.
Too Big a Brand to Fail
But if a Watch flop would hurt Apple the company, the greater damage would be to Apple the brand. Apple has undertaken a massive effort to portray the Watch as the next frontier, the next must-have, the dream. It’s Apple’s boldest product since Steve Jobs died. If the Watch fails, Apple would be spooked, and so would we. There will be talk of 2015 as the “end of Apple.” For consumers, the company would no longer be hot.
Ironically, that shift in perception could start a self-fulfilling spiral of risk aversion. After getting burned for “Thinking Differently,” Apple could start doing the same old, same old. Instead of fans obsessing over product leaks, rumors, and announcements, Apple could end up more like the Microsoft of old or (shudder) HP. Instead of taking chances, it could decide to stick with sure things.
Before we get too ahead of ourselves, let’s acknowledge that although the Watch could fail, it probably won’t. Consumers love Apple and love Apple products. Whether in this iteration or the next, Apple likely will find some way to make the Watch work—paired with the iPhone, the two products may only get better and more popular.
Still, if the Watch is anything less than a blockbuster, we may yet feel the consequences. We might not see them today, and we might not notice them 50 years from now, but in between it could affect how the company gets there. The Watch is the first major product Apple’s released that allows consumers to truly customize the product design itself. Unlike the iPhone and iPod’s limited options, the Watch boasts near infinite combinations of interchangeable straps, watch faces, and digital add-ons, not to mention a wide range of prices. If consumers aren’t convinced by the Watch’s usefulness, Apple’s takeaway might be to go back to the basics: creativity is for Apple, not the consumer.
And while that reaction would be understandable, it would still hurt. If the Watch fails, the company’s next product could wind up more conservative, less personal, and simpler in the wrong way. Think Different could become Think the Same. Apple will be just fine. But the rest of us will miss out on what might have been.

See the original post: You Want the Apple Watch to Succeed

No products found.

These Are the Best In-Ear Headphones Under $40

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on These Are the Best In-Ear Headphones Under $40
Apr 082015
 

Brainwavz The Brainwavz Delta with Mic

If you’re looking for the best in-ear headphones on a budget, get the Brainwavz Delta with Mic. After 32 hours of research on hundreds of in-ear headphones under $40, seriously considering 179, and testing 68 with our panel of audio experts, we found the Brainwavz Deltas are the best for the money. Our panel unanimously voted them the best-sounding of all the ones tested in this category, plus they fit comfortably in most ears, and are a steal at $22. They sound better than the Apple Earpods, so if you’re looking to upgrade or replace those, or want something decent and inexpensive, these are your best bet.

How Did We Choose What To Test?
After doing research on existing professional reviews, I looked to the user reviews on Amazon, Crutchfield, etc. to see what real people had liked and had come out since our last post.
We then brought in a faceoff panel consisting of audio professionals and musicians who were asked to listen and give me their top picks. From there we took into account price and features, and in the end, chose a winner.
You can find more details on our professional panelists and testing methods in the full version of this article.
Our Pick
What made the Brainwavz Delta so fantastic? One panelist summed it up best: “These are the only headphones under $25 that don’t sound like cheap headphones.” The highs are clear with good detail, the bass is well formed (with a slight bump in just the right area to add a lively kick to the beat), and the mids have a richness or lush, non-tinny aspect to the sound and a sense of depth of space that is uncommon in this price range. Translation: every kind of music sounds good on them.
Also, while most headphones around this price make music sound like it’s coming from inside your head, the Brainwavz have a sense of space that makes music sound more like a concert happening in front of you. The Delta also have an optional one-button remote and mic, so you can take calls and pull up Siri.
Another major part of why the Brainwavz work so well is their ability to fit various ear sizes and shapes. That’s not a given with in-ear headphones, and a good fit is vital for good sound quality. Getting a good fit is made easier as the Delta include three sizes of silicone tips plus a pair of Comply foam tips.
They’re not perfect, of course. If you’re accustomed to more expensive headphones, you’ll notice that the Delta have a bit of sizzle in the treble (somewhere around 4 kHz) that can cause crash cymbals or consonants to have a slight biting sound. And the mids, when compared to higher-end models, sound a bit coarse. (By that we mean guitars and piano can sound inauthentic in a way that you know they are coming from a speaker rather than real-life). But to get another sonic level up from the Delta, you’d need to spend at least $75.

A note on build quality: An early batch of Deltas released were prone to breaking. Brainwavz has fixed the issues in the Deltas currently available to buy, and have committed to replacing older models. Read more about this in our full guide.

Runner up (Still Fantastic)
Our runner up was our previous winner, the Panasonic RP-TCM 125 “Ergo Fit”. They have a nice overall balance with airy, mellow highs and present but not dominating bass. They sound just as good listening to acoustic guitar as they do hip hop and rock. They don’t have the detail and depth of the Brainwavz, but for $14, they’re really great. The TCM-125 have a single-button remote and mic and come in a variety of colors, too.
Bass-Lover’s Alternate
Bass lovers should check out the Sol Republic Jax. While these headphones aren’t for everyone (or every kind of music), they are great for rock, pop, and hip-hop. Our resident bass-head adored them, and said that they were his personal favorite overall. The bass is intense, and can verge on the edge of sloppy in music that requires detail (so jazz, classical, and folk lovers will want to skip these) but if you like to rock, these kick ass.
Non-sealed in-ears (“earbuds”)
If you absolutely need non-sealed in-ears (i.e. “earbuds”) for more situational awareness, the best we could find were the Sennheiser MX365. They sound better than the Apple EarPods, but they have scratchy foam pads and don’t sound anywhere near as good as our top picks. However, if non-sealed is something you need, the MX365 are your best bet.
Wrapping it up
Just because you don’t have a huge budget doesn’t mean you have to be satisfied with crappy sound. The Brainwavz Delta are more affordable than a new pair of Apple EarPods, sound better than anything else in this price range (including the EarPods), and can take calls and skip songs with the optional mic. Plus, at under $25, if they go missing, get chewed up by your dog, or get run through the laundry, you won’t cry yourself to sleep at night when you need to replace them.
If you want to step up a bit in sound quality (and it is a big step up), check out our $100 in-ear picks.
This guide may have been updated. To see the current recommendation, please go to The Wirecutter.com.
This post was done in partnership with The Wirecutter, a list of the best technology to buy. Read the full article above at TheWirecutter.com.

0

Read the original: These Are the Best In-Ear Headphones Under $40

No products found.

Today's Best Deals: Drones, Bluetooth Headphones, Storage Shed, & More

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Today's Best Deals: Drones, Bluetooth Headphones, Storage Shed, & More
Apr 072015
 

Here are the best of today’s deals. Get every great deal every day on Kinja Deals, follow us on Facebook and Twitter to never miss a deal, join us on Kinja Gear to read about great products, and on Kinja Co-Op to help us find the best.
More Deals:
Today’s Best App Deals

Today’s Best Media Deals

Today’s Best Gaming Deals

Top Deals

It might not be mission-critical equipment for your home, but a good label maker is a nice gadget to keep around, and Amazon’s top seller is only $10 today.

If you remember the old label makers that literally pressed the letters into a piece of tape, this is a bit more advanced than what you’re picturing. The Dymo LabelManager 160 can print in eight fonts at six sizes, along with clipart and special characters, and you can even preview the entire label on its LCD screen before you print. The last time we posted this deal, it sold out quickly, so you’ll want to grab yours fast.
Again, this might not be something you pull out every day, but at $10, why the hell not? [ Dymo LabelManager 160, $10]

Bluetooth earbuds are awesome for exercise, and mandatory if you want to use your Android Wear or Apple Watch to listen to audio on the go. And for just $22, you might as well run off with a pair.

The Soundpeats Qy7 earbuds pack a solid five hours of battery life into an extremely small package, and judging by the user reviews, they sound surprisingly decent for the price. We’ve seen these get down to the low $20-range a few times before, but they usually sell out pretty quickly, so grab a pair while you can. [Soundpeats Qy7 Mini Lightweight Wireless Stereo Sports/running & Gym/exercise Bluetooth Earbuds, $22]

There’s not much to say about this knife-hiding key other than that it looks awesome, and only costs $8. Just don’t forget to leave it at home before you head to the airport. [SOG Specialty Knives & Tools KEY-101 Key Knife, $8]

Pretty much everyone needs kitchen trash bags, so you might as well save a few bucks and have them delivered to your front door. [90-Count Hefty Blackout Tall Kitchen Trash Bags, $11 after clipping the 10% coupon]

Whether you need two ports, four ports, or a bonus wall charger, we’ve got several nice deals on USB chargers for your car today.

iClever® Dual Port USB Car Charger for iPhone 6, 6 Plus, 5S, 5C, 5, 4S,… iClever® Dual Port USB Car Charger for iPhone 6, 6 Plus, 5S, 5C, 5, 4S,… iClever® Dual Port USB Car Charger for iPhone 6,…
Amazon.com: $7.99
Buy now 598 readers bought this

If you want a little bit of outdoor space to store your gardening equipment, but don’t want to build a huge shed from scratch, this closet-sized Rubbermaid shed is as easy a solution as you’ll find. If that’s all the space you need, Amazon will sell you one for $119 today, which is a match for lowest price ever. Just note that this is a Gold Box deal, meaning the price is only available today, or until sold out. [Rubbermaid Plastic Vertical Outdoor Storage Shed, 17-Cubic Foot, $119]

When you think Logitech Harmony, you probably don’t picture a full-sized keyboard, and yet that’s exactly what this is. The Harmony Smart Wireless Keyboard controls all of your connected devices from one place just like their universal remotes, except now you get a trackpad and full keyboard entry for the devices that support it.

And if you just need a typical remote for quick home theater adjustments, this system also allows your smartphone to do anything a remote could via a free app, which is a very nice tough. Best Buy has the keyboard for $80, today only. That’s 0ver $50 less than Amazon [Logitech – Harmony Smart Wireless Keyboard, $80]

If you’ve been wanting to get your feet wet in the world of droning, we’ve got two great deals for you today. For beginners, this UDI U818 is down to $50 today, and is great for practicing before you invest in something more advanced. It even has a low-res camera to practice a little bit of aerial photography. [UDI U818A 2.4GHz 4 CH 6 Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter with Camera, $50]

If you’ve already earned your wings, Amazon’s having a one-day Gold Box deal on the DJI Phantom 2 with Zenmuse gimbal. Note that this isn’t the one with the built-in camera; you’ll need to provide your own GoPro, and install some optional equipment (check out the DJI Phantom subreddit for help) if you want first person live view while you fly, but this is still a fantastic price if you’re not afraid of doing a little extra work. [DJI Phantom 2 Quadcopter V2.0 Bundle with 3-Axis Zenmuse H3-3D Gimbal for GoPro, $683]

I live in a college town, so I know it’s spring time when the trees in my neighborhood sprout the colorful hammock cocoons where college students undergo a metamorphosis into…slightly warmer college students, I guess.
Anyway, if you want a hammock, here are some nice deals Yukon Outfitters models, courtesy of Woot. [Yukon Outfitters Hammocks, 30]

You can never have too much hard drive space, and this well-reviewed 1TB Toshiba is only $50 today, which is about as low as we’ve seen 1TB externals drop. [Toshiba Canvio Connect 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive, $50]

We’ve got ourselves another Timbuk2 deal! This time around, you can get the Timbuk2 Especial Claro cycling bag for $50 (which is a great price on its own), plus take home a FREE Timbuk2 laptop sleeve to boot. Once you add the cycling bag to your cart, the sleeve will be added automatically. [Timbuk 2 Especial Claro + Laptop Sleeve, $50]

If you have any old hard drives or SSDs lying around, don’t let them go to waste; pop them into this cheap enclosure and turn them into external storage. We’ve seen a few similar products go a few bucks cheaper than this, but I love that this one doesn’t require any tools. [Inateck 2.5 Inch USB 3.0 Tool-Free HDD/SSD Enclosure, $14 with code Z77BR3K4]

One can never have too many Lightning Cables. [RAVPower MFi-Certified Lightning Cable, $7 with code GS5VLUIG]

If you’re planning any upcoming trips, Amazon’s currently taking an extra 20% off hundreds of pieces of luggage from a variety of manufacturers. That includes carry-ons, checked bags, backpacks, and even luggage scales from the likes of Samsonite, TravelPro, Herschel Supply Company, and more.
Just use promo code LUGGAGE20 at checkout to get the deal, and note that the deals stacks with any discounts listed on the product page. [ Extra 20% off Luggage with promo code LUGGAGE20]

A Dremel rotary tool is one of the most versatile gadgets you can have in your tool chest, and this starter kit from Amazon is down to $60 today, or about $10 less than normal.

In addition to the Dremel tool itself, the kit comes with 28 accessories to repurpose it for various jobs around your house, including sanding, engraving, cutting, and even polishing. The 4.6 star reviews inspire confidence, and the price tag is within a dollar of its all-time low, so don’t hesitate if you don’t already own one of these. [Dremel 3000 Kit, $60]

Nobody wants to see your nose hair, but it’s easy to keep it at bay with this $10 trimmer from Panasonic.

The poetically-named Panasonic ER-GN30-K was one of the most popular items we posted in the early days of Kinja Deals, and today’s deal matches its all-time low price. I’m not ashamed to admit that I use it probably once per week, and I couldn’t be happier with it.
Even if your nose is under control, this is also perfect for ear hair, or even fine adjustments to your facial hair and eyebrows. And if its 4.3 star average on over 5,000 reviews is any indication, you should have no trouble finding a use for it during your morning shaving routine. [ Panasonic Nose/Ear/Facial Hair Trimmer, $10]

Sad that The Walking Dead TV series is done until the Fall? Catch up on the comics with great prices on The Walking Dead Compendium 1 and Compendium 2. Both books are within a few bucks of their all-time low prices, and they each contain 48 issues in one affordable package.

Kinja Co-Op: What’s the Best Gaming Mouse? 2015 Edition.

Kinja Co-Op: What’s the Best Mascara?

Kinja Gear: Airscape: Airtight Storage For Coffee and More

Get the best deals in your newsfeed, and maybe share with your friends?
Tech
Storage
Power
Headphones
Home Theater
Computers & Accessories
PC Parts
Phones and Tablets
Photography
Home
Kitchen
Fitness
Apparel
Misc.
Camping & Outdoors
Tools
Auto
Kids

Follow us for the best deals on the Internet, and check out http://t.co/w8ke7mw7nT
— Kinja Deals (@KinjaDeals) June 9, 2014

Commerce Content is independent of Editorial and Advertising, and if you buy something through our posts, we may get a small share of the sale. Click here to learn more. We want your feedback.Send deal submissions to Deals@Gawker and all other inquiries to Shane@Gawker

More here: Today's Best Deals: Drones, Bluetooth Headphones, Storage Shed, & More

No products found.

Is it time to bid farewell to your Beats? Your pricey designer headphones could be causing bacteria build-up, acne and …

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Is it time to bid farewell to your Beats? Your pricey designer headphones could be causing bacteria build-up, acne and …
Apr 042015
 

By

Erica Tempesta For Dailymail.com

Published:
18:44 EST, 3 April 2015

|
Updated:
19:00 EST, 3 April 2015

14
View comments

Flashy designer headphones have become somewhat of a status symbol among the style savvy – including Hollywood’s hottest stars – but shelling out $150 or more for a trendy pair of ear covers may leave you with a particularly nasty side effect – acne.According to medical experts, those who frequently wear big, over-ear headphones, especially when they are working up a sweat, are unknowingly allowing a swarm of unpleasant bacteria to multiply, which may lead to an unexpected breakouts, as well as skin infections.Your gorgeous chrome-covered headphones may be a fantastic accessory, but swapping them for a simple pair of earbuds is surely a much better solution for your skin – and your wallet. Star power: Chloe Grace Moretz models a pair of audio brand Frends’ ‘Layla’ headphones in rose gold, which retail for $150, and can cause a build-up of bacteria that can lead to acne outbreaksYoung hollywood: Selena Gomez (R) can be seen running errands wearing Frends’ headphones, while Chloe (L) opted for a pair of Beats by Dre, which sell for around $250, at the airport ‘Wearing over-the-ear headphones is a perfect setup for causing an increase of acne breakouts and skin infections,’ dermatologist and Simple advisory board member Dr Debra Luftman told Teen Vogue.Dr Luftman noted that this is ‘especially the case when you wear them during and after a workout, or if you keep them on for long periods of time’ – which most music lovers do.’Sweat and moisture collect on and around the headphones, compressing the skin and therefore encouraging bacteria and yeast to multiply,’ she explained.

All smiles: Katy Perry wore Beats by Dre, which cost around $250, on The Elvis Duran Morning Show in 2011Travel in style: Cara Delvingne sported a pair of $200 Frends headphones at the airport, while Jayden Smith picked a pair of limited edition $300 Beats by Dre But ditching your beloved headphones doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice style.While celebrities such as Selena Gomez, Olivia Wilde and Drew Barrymore have all been spotted wearing Frends’ large over-ear headphones, which sell upwards of $265 and come in a variety of metallics, the brand’s cheaper, and more hygienic, Ella earbuds will give you the same trendy effect – for almost $100 less.And the same goes for popular brands such as Beats by Dre, Skullcandy, and LSTN, which all offer earbud versions of their highly-coveted headphones for a fraction of the cost.Meanwhile, practical earbud models such as the Razer Hammerhead Headset, the NRG Premium Genuine Wood Headphones by Symphonized, and Sony’s MDREX58V have not only received great reviews for their sound quality – they all cost $50 dollars or less. Custom-made: Lil Wayne splurged on this pair of $1 million diamond studded Beats by Dre headphones Fur real? Dolce & Gabbana sent an over-the-top collection of bedazzled, fur trim headphones down the runway during Milan Fashion Week last month. The ornate headphones retails for nearly $8,000Of course, part of the appeal of designer headphones is that they are noticeable fashion statement, which is a trend that doesn’t look like it is going away anytime soon.Last month, Dolce & Gabbana debuted its over-the-top collection of bedazzled, fur trim headphones after the Italian luxury brand collaborated with Frends on the creation of their ornate designs.The headphones, which are quite literally fit for a queen, are retailing for nearly $8,000 after they were seen on the runway during Milan Fashion Week.Style savvy: Brad Goreski can be seen styling Noot Seear while she modeled a pair of Frends headphones (L) Fashion blogger Bryan Boy (R) wore Frends headphones around his neck to Paris Fashion Week in 2014Right idea: Emilia Clarke (L) carried a pair of earbuds out of the airport while Taylor Swift (R) wore a pair of earbuds during a hike If you were one of the few who laid down the $3,498 deposit to order a pair of the headphones on Moda Operandi’s website, or if you just can’t bear to part with your favorite earmuffs, there are precautions you can take to avoid breaking out.Dr Luftman recommends that users clean their headphones daily with a make-up remover wipe and make sure they are dry before putting them back on.And to keep yourself from transferring the bacteria on your face back on to your headphones, remember to wipe your face and ears clean before putting them back on your head.   

Visit link: Is it time to bid farewell to your Beats? Your pricey designer headphones could be causing bacteria build-up, acne and …

No products found.

March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015
Apr 022015
 

It’s a new month once again so we’re here to give you a roundup of all the devices we’ve reviewed recently. This includes the HTC Desire Eye, Cherry Mobile One, Microsoft Lumia 435 Dual-SIM, Meizu M1 Note, ASUS Zenfone C, the expensive Bose Lifestyle 535 Series III Surround Speakers, and a number of affordable AWEI headphones. Check out our Gadget Reviews Roundup for the month of March.

Full Review:
HTC Desire Eye

The Desire Eye, like many other HTC smartphones before it, is a thing of beauty. It is a well rounded, well-equipped handset that puts everything else in place. It has a good front-facing camera, great performance, water-resistant body, and excellent battery life.

Cherry Mobile One

For Php3,999 people can now own a Google-tested device without breaking the bank and be one of the first to receive the latest Android flavors when it comes out. And for a budget-conscious market like ours that’s a very good thing.

CloudFone CloudPad One 7.0

For Php7K you have a 7-inch tablet that performs well on casual browsing and video-watching. It comes across hangs and lags every once in a while, but could still get better once a newer update of Lollipop rolls out. Battery life is also impressive — which makes it something that would prove useful to bring around when you’re on-the-go.

Sennheiser Urbanite Headphones

So what do you get for almost Php12K? For one, you get a stylish pair of headphones that demand some quick glances from people as you walk the streets with its design. Build quality is also top-notch as we were confident enough to put serious amount of stress on its headband during our time with it. Sound quality is balanced all around with lows, mids, and highs unified.

AWEI TS-150vi In-Ear Headphones

The TS-150vi is capable of producing sounds of acceptable to good quality. It’s good with RnB, Acoustic, Jazz and Rock music but falls a bit short when it comes to the bassy Hip Hop and Club. Design-wise, its sporty look should appeal to people with active lifestyles. Quality-wise, it feels cheap which is the same thing I can say for its price. The Awei TS-150vi only costs Php490 which is less expensive than most in-ear headphones out there.

Bose Lifestyle 535 Series III Surround Speakers

This flagship speaker from Bose deserves to be the headliner in its home theater series. The speakers are easy to squeeze and blends effortlessly into any living room, sound quality is life-like, you have a sub-woofer that pumps out chest-shaking lows, it easily fills a large living room, and finally don’t forget about its easy setup.

AWEI ES-Q5 Noise Isolation Earphones

Priced at a little over Php200, the AWEI ES-Q5 delivered above-average sound quality for the value it’s asking for. There’s no in-line microphone or navigation buttons but you get a nice in-ear that you can easily bring around with, and has a nice touch of nature too. Is it a good buy? Yes. We’re just not sure about the durability of these in the long run, but for 200 pesos it doesn’t hurt the pocket that much.

Sennheiser Urbanite XL Headphones

Both the Urbanite and Urbanite XL have the same neat and easily-noticeable design, while having premium materials comprising it. They have commendable sound performance with slight differences, but overall provide an enjoyable musical experience. Comfort is also aced by both models so it’s just up to you if you prefer the feel of having bigger cups — although choosing the XL will set you back Php4K more.

AWEI ES100M In-Ear Headphones

Overall, its performance is better than most stock earphones that you see bundled with a phone. We’ve pointed this before on our previous AWEI review and it’s still the case here. What we’re seeing here is that the company is offering better alternatives for music-listeners that don’t want to break their banks.

AWEI ES900i In-Ear Headphones

The ES900i is like the opposite of the TS-150vi. It’s good when it comes to bass but doesn’t exercise a lot of control when it comes to trebles. It’s still a very good pair though considering its price. You won’t get in-line controls like the TS-150vi but you’ll get tangle-free flat cables and a much better build. And for just Php349, it certainly won’t break the bank.

Meizu M1 Note

There’s really no reason why shouldn’t go for the Meizu M1 Note if you have the money to buy it. The handset offers respectable performance, it’s got great design albeit undeniably patterned to the iPhone 5C and the battery life is outstanding, making it difficult to pass up the sweet Php7,990 deal that Novo7 Tech is billing for this exceptional mid-range smartphone.

Bowers & Wilkins T7 Bluetooth Speaker

The Bowers & Wilkins T7 is one of the nicest-looking Bluetooth speakers we’ve used so far. It supports aptX technology, has great quality and build, a simple yet attractive design, and long battery life. Sound-wise, the T7 can produce really good sounds that should satisfy listeners of all kinds of music. Overall, the T7 is a great Bluetooth speaker.

HTC Re

It’s a fun, nice-looking and easy to use action camera that deserves a second look (especially if you’re an HTC fan). One minor concern though is the lack of accessories, even a carrying case.

Microsoft Lumia 435 Dual-SIM

With an asking price with just a little over Php4K, the Lumia 435 Dual-SIM is a good phone to keep in mind if you find yourself having affinity for Windows phones and at the same time are tight on budget. We had some trouble with our Microsoft account but it carried everyday tasks smoothly. The need to convert high-res videos into lower resolution is cumbersome, but on the bright side the speakers are powerful which is not common for entry-level phones.

Asus Zenfone C

The Zenfone C is a decent entry-level smartphone with an adequate performance. Marking itself as one of the most affordable Intel-equipped smartphones in the market today, its lauded design and build also seen on its other siblings, the increased screen size and battery capacity, and the software skin that is of the ZenUI are some of its great points not to be missed out.

Quick Review:
JBL Clip

If we are to bring a compact speaker for a trek or hike, we will definitely include the JBL Clip to our choices. Its portable design and loud yet clear output is already a good selling point. Add to that the Bluetooth and hands-free feature. However, the lack of water-proofing is a let-down. With an SRP of Php2,995, it is a good option for those who need it.

Continue reading here: March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015

No products found.

March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015
Apr 022015
 

It’s a new month once again so we’re here to give you a roundup of all the devices we’ve reviewed recently. This includes the HTC Desire Eye, Cherry Mobile One, Microsoft Lumia 435 Dual-SIM, Meizu M1 Note, ASUS Zenfone C, the expensive Bose Lifestyle 535 Series III Surround Speakers, and a number of affordable AWEI headphones. Check out our Gadget Reviews Roundup for the month of March.

Full Review:
HTC Desire Eye

The Desire Eye, like many other HTC smartphones before it, is a thing of beauty. It is a well rounded, well-equipped handset that puts everything else in place. It has a good front-facing camera, great performance, water-resistant body, and excellent battery life.

Cherry Mobile One

For Php3,999 people can now own a Google-tested device without breaking the bank and be one of the first to receive the latest Android flavors when it comes out. And for a budget-conscious market like ours that’s a very good thing.

CloudFone CloudPad One 7.0

For Php7K you have a 7-inch tablet that performs well on casual browsing and video-watching. It comes across hangs and lags every once in a while, but could still get better once a newer update of Lollipop rolls out. Battery life is also impressive — which makes it something that would prove useful to bring around when you’re on-the-go.

Sennheiser Urbanite Headphones

So what do you get for almost Php12K? For one, you get a stylish pair of headphones that demand some quick glances from people as you walk the streets with its design. Build quality is also top-notch as we were confident enough to put serious amount of stress on its headband during our time with it. Sound quality is balanced all around with lows, mids, and highs unified.

AWEI TS-150vi In-Ear Headphones

The TS-150vi is capable of producing sounds of acceptable to good quality. It’s good with RnB, Acoustic, Jazz and Rock music but falls a bit short when it comes to the bassy Hip Hop and Club. Design-wise, its sporty look should appeal to people with active lifestyles. Quality-wise, it feels cheap which is the same thing I can say for its price. The Awei TS-150vi only costs Php490 which is less expensive than most in-ear headphones out there.

Bose Lifestyle 535 Series III Surround Speakers

This flagship speaker from Bose deserves to be the headliner in its home theater series. The speakers are easy to squeeze and blends effortlessly into any living room, sound quality is life-like, you have a sub-woofer that pumps out chest-shaking lows, it easily fills a large living room, and finally don’t forget about its easy setup.

AWEI ES-Q5 Noise Isolation Earphones

Priced at a little over Php200, the AWEI ES-Q5 delivered above-average sound quality for the value it’s asking for. There’s no in-line microphone or navigation buttons but you get a nice in-ear that you can easily bring around with, and has a nice touch of nature too. Is it a good buy? Yes. We’re just not sure about the durability of these in the long run, but for 200 pesos it doesn’t hurt the pocket that much.

Sennheiser Urbanite XL Headphones

Both the Urbanite and Urbanite XL have the same neat and easily-noticeable design, while having premium materials comprising it. They have commendable sound performance with slight differences, but overall provide an enjoyable musical experience. Comfort is also aced by both models so it’s just up to you if you prefer the feel of having bigger cups — although choosing the XL will set you back Php4K more.

AWEI ES100M In-Ear Headphones

Overall, its performance is better than most stock earphones that you see bundled with a phone. We’ve pointed this before on our previous AWEI review and it’s still the case here. What we’re seeing here is that the company is offering better alternatives for music-listeners that don’t want to break their banks.

AWEI ES900i In-Ear Headphones

The ES900i is like the opposite of the TS-150vi. It’s good when it comes to bass but doesn’t exercise a lot of control when it comes to trebles. It’s still a very good pair though considering its price. You won’t get in-line controls like the TS-150vi but you’ll get tangle-free flat cables and a much better build. And for just Php349, it certainly won’t break the bank.

Meizu M1 Note

There’s really no reason why shouldn’t go for the Meizu M1 Note if you have the money to buy it. The handset offers respectable performance, it’s got great design albeit undeniably patterned to the iPhone 5C and the battery life is outstanding, making it difficult to pass up the sweet Php7,990 deal that Novo7 Tech is billing for this exceptional mid-range smartphone.

Bowers & Wilkins T7 Bluetooth Speaker

The Bowers & Wilkins T7 is one of the nicest-looking Bluetooth speakers we’ve used so far. It supports aptX technology, has great quality and build, a simple yet attractive design, and long battery life. Sound-wise, the T7 can produce really good sounds that should satisfy listeners of all kinds of music. Overall, the T7 is a great Bluetooth speaker.

HTC Re

It’s a fun, nice-looking and easy to use action camera that deserves a second look (especially if you’re an HTC fan). One minor concern though is the lack of accessories, even a carrying case.

Microsoft Lumia 435 Dual-SIM

With an asking price with just a little over Php4K, the Lumia 435 Dual-SIM is a good phone to keep in mind if you find yourself having affinity for Windows phones and at the same time are tight on budget. We had some trouble with our Microsoft account but it carried everyday tasks smoothly. The need to convert high-res videos into lower resolution is cumbersome, but on the bright side the speakers are powerful which is not common for entry-level phones.

Asus Zenfone C

The Zenfone C is a decent entry-level smartphone with an adequate performance. Marking itself as one of the most affordable Intel-equipped smartphones in the market today, its lauded design and build also seen on its other siblings, the increased screen size and battery capacity, and the software skin that is of the ZenUI are some of its great points not to be missed out.

Quick Review:
JBL Clip

If we are to bring a compact speaker for a trek or hike, we will definitely include the JBL Clip to our choices. Its portable design and loud yet clear output is already a good selling point. Add to that the Bluetooth and hands-free feature. However, the lack of water-proofing is a let-down. With an SRP of Php2,995, it is a good option for those who need it.

See the original post: March Gadget Reviews Roundup 2015

No products found.

Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More
Apr 012015
 

My promise to you: Kinja Deals will be an April Fools safe zone today. I detest this holiday.
More Deals
Today’s Best App Deals

Today’s Best Media Deals

Today’s Best Gaming Deals

Top Deals

Sennheiser’s Momentum Headphones sound as good as they look, and Amazon has them available for an all-time low $91 today. Music to your ears. [Sennheiser Momentum On Ear Headphones, $91]

USB battery packs are must-own accessories in this day and age, but they’re kind of…boring. Luckily, we’ve found two deals today on chargers that have a few tricks under their sleeves.
First off, this 5,000mAh charger has a Qi wireless charging pad built right in. That means you can charge your compatible phone anywhere in the world without carrying a single wire. The idea is so obvious in hindsight that I’m surprised we haven’t seen more like it. Think about it; you’re most likely to need one of these things when you’re out and about, so one less wire to carry is a real convenience. Naturally, there’s also a USB port to charge a second phone simultaneously, and you can even keep it plugged in at home to use as a standard Qi charging pad. [RAVPower 5,000mAh Qi-Enabled Wireless Charger, $40 with code JBW9WIE3]

Next up is one of our old favorites: The RAVPower FileHub. This little gadget is actually three devices in one:

Travel Router: Turn any ethernet jack you find into a Wi-Fi hotspot, which can still come in handy at certain hotels and conventions.
6,000mAh USB Battery Pack: Keep your phone and tablet charged during a long day away from any power outlets.
File Hub: Transfer files and wirelessly stream content from an microSD card, hard drive, or flash drive to all of your devices. Imagine loading a cheap microSD card up with movies for a long trip, instead of, say, buying an expensive iPad with more local storage.
If you travel frequently, there’s no doubt you’ll make great use of this, and today’s price is the lowest we’ve ever seen by a good margin. [ RAVPower FileHub, $32 with code 7HOPCXWG]

The Wire isn’t just one of the best TV shows ever made, it’s probably one of the greatest works of art produced in the last century. The whole series has been remastered in HD, and you can preorder it today (with low price guarantee) for $110. It was $160 or more until today, and we don’t know if it’ll shoot back up. [Preorder The Wire: The Complete Series, $110]

Update 2: Looks like it’s back!
Update: Sold out for now, but Amazon occasionally comes back in stock quickly. Keep checking back.
I use a Swiffer WetJet to clean my kitchen and bathroom floors every weekend, and it works well given how dead-simple and convenient it is. If you don’t own one, for $10, why not? [Swiffer WetJet Starter Kit, $10 after $5 coupon]

If you still listen to any of your TVs through their built-in speakers, a decent sound bar is the best upgrade you can make. This refurbished Vizio model includes Bluetooth to stream music from your phone as well, and is only $70 today on eBay. The same model (also refurbished) goes for $90 on Amazon with solid reviews. [Refurb Vizio S3820w-C0 38″ 2.0 Bluetooth Home Theater Sound, $70]

The Canon EOS 70D is a fantastic mid-range DSLR, particularly if you plan to shoot some video, and you can grab one with a kit lens for just $799 today. Incredibly, that’s a full $350 less than Amazon’s current going rate of $1149, which is itself the lowest price they’ve ever listed. [Canon EOS 70D with 18-55mm Lens, $799]

We’ve found a couple of solid deals on creative lighting solutions for your home. First up, these TaoTronics copper wire string lights are more decorative than functional, but they’d be great for lighting up a patio or some outdoor furniture. Plus, their 4.7 star review average is stellar. [TaoTronics Led String Starry Light Copper Wire Lights, $13 with code YIGTGMAC]

Next up, we have an old favorite returning. The OxyLED T-01 touch light sticks on any surface, and turns on and off with a light touch of your finger. It’s not motion sensing like some similar night lights we’ve posted in the past, but I love using these under cabinets and in dark closets. Today on Amazon, you can buy two and save, or buy three and save even more. [ OxyLED T-01 DIY Stick-on Anywhere 4-LED Touch Tap Light, get two for $14 with code 2T011399 or three for $19 with code 3T011899]

Amazon’s offering a 20% off coupon on a nice collection of snacks and cookies today. Your choices include Ritz Chips, Oreos, Chips Ahoy, and more, so you should have no trouble finding something you’ll like. Note that many of the products are sold in bulk, so be sure you have room to store them for awhile. [Amazon Snack Sale]
Note: The coupon is an additional 20% off the listed price. Your discount won’t show up until the final checkout screen.

We don’t see discounted gas station gift cards very often, but when we do, they usually sell out quickly. At today’s prices, this works out to roughly four gallons of regular unleaded basically for free. [$100 ExxonMobil Gift Card, $90]

Depending on who you ask, Pixelmator might just be the best image editor you can get for your Mac (yes, including Photoshop). And given everything it can do, it’s is an incredible value at its normal price of $30 up front, and an absolute steal at 50% off. [Pixelmator, $15]

It’s a law of the universe that the standard 3′ cable your iPhone comes with is going to be a few inches shorter than you need it to be. Today though, you can get not one, but two double-length Lightning cables for the price of one of Apple’s. [2x iClever 6′ Lightning Cables, $19. Add two to cart and use code YXMIO47M]

Anker is getting into the smartphone dash mount game with their newly-released air vent mount, and you can grab one for $10, complete with a free 4′ AUX cable to connect your phone to your speakers. This doesn’t have many reviews yet, but we’ve had nothing but good experiences with Anker products in the past, so I imagine it’ll be of good quality. [Anker Smartphone Air Vent Mount + 4′ AUX Cable, $10. Add both to cart and use code MMAREACZ]

Want to add Bluetooth streaming and hands-free calling to the mix? This inexpensive kit has everything you need. [SoundBot SB360 Bluetooth 4.0 Car Kit Hands-Free Wireless Talking & Music Streaming Dongle, $15]

This microfiber towel is considered by many detailing aficionados to be the best for drying off your car. I own it, and can confirm that it’s less a towel as much as a towel-shaped sponge. [Meguiar’s X2000 Microfiber Drying Towel, $7]

Want your deals the old fashioned way? Sign up for this IFTTT recipe to get a digest of all our posts sent to your email every afternoon.

Tech
Storage
Power
Headphones
Home Theater
Computers & Accessories
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 Core i7, 8GB, 256GB, 12″ Win 8.1 Tablet ($1200) | eBay
Apple Core i5, 4GB, 128GB SSD, 13.3″ MacBook Air ($800) | Best Buy
Alienware Alpha Core i3, GeForce, 4GB, 500GB Steam Machine Ready Gaming Computer ($430) | Dell | Use code CZVNPH5T
Lenovo AMD A8, Radeon, 6GB, 500GB, Win 8.1, 15.6″ Laptop ($250) | Best Buy
LG 27-Inch 5ms HDMI LED LCD IPS Monitor ($170) | Newegg
Acer G7 24-Inch LED LCD Monitor ($120) | Newegg | After promo code EMCARAK22
refurb Acer 24-Inch LED Monitor ($113) | Walmart
refurb Logitech Z323 30 Watts (RMS) 2.1 Speaker System ($25) | Newegg
LapGear MyDesk ($9) | Amazon
PC Parts
Phones and Tablets
Photography
Home
Kitchen
Fitness

Apparel
Misc.
Camping & Outdoors
Tools
Auto
Kids

Follow us for the best deals on the Internet, and check out http://t.co/w8ke7mw7nT
— Kinja Deals (@KinjaDeals) June 9, 2014

Commerce covers the best products on Kinja Gear, finds you deals on those products on Kinja Deals, and asks you about your favorites on Kinja Co-Op, click here to learn more. We operate independently of Editorial and Advertising, and if you buy something through our posts, we may get a small share of the sale. We want your feedback.Send deal submissions to Deals@Gawker and all other inquiries to Shane@Gawker

More: Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More

No products found.

Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More
Apr 012015
 

My promise to you: Kinja Deals will be an April Fools safe zone today. I detest this holiday.
More Deals
Today’s Best App Deals

Today’s Best Media Deals

Today’s Best Gaming Deals

Top Deals

Sennheiser’s Momentum Headphones sound as good as they look, and Amazon has them available for an all-time low $91 today. Music to your ears. [Sennheiser Momentum On Ear Headphones, $91]

USB battery packs are must-own accessories in this day and age, but they’re kind of…boring. Luckily, we’ve found two deals today on chargers that have a few tricks under their sleeves.
First off, this 5,000mAh charger has a Qi wireless charging pad built right in. That means you can charge your compatible phone anywhere in the world without carrying a single wire. The idea is so obvious in hindsight that I’m surprised we haven’t seen more like it. Think about it; you’re most likely to need one of these things when you’re out and about, so one less wire to carry is a real convenience. Naturally, there’s also a USB port to charge a second phone simultaneously, and you can even keep it plugged in at home to use as a standard Qi charging pad. [RAVPower 5,000mAh Qi-Enabled Wireless Charger, $40 with code JBW9WIE3]

Next up is one of our old favorites: The RAVPower FileHub. This little gadget is actually three devices in one:

Travel Router: Turn any ethernet jack you find into a Wi-Fi hotspot, which can still come in handy at certain hotels and conventions.
6,000mAh USB Battery Pack: Keep your phone and tablet charged during a long day away from any power outlets.
File Hub: Transfer files and wirelessly stream content from an microSD card, hard drive, or flash drive to all of your devices. Imagine loading a cheap microSD card up with movies for a long trip, instead of, say, buying an expensive iPad with more local storage.
If you travel frequently, there’s no doubt you’ll make great use of this, and today’s price is the lowest we’ve ever seen by a good margin. [ RAVPower FileHub, $32 with code 7HOPCXWG]

The Wire isn’t just one of the best TV shows ever made, it’s probably one of the greatest works of art produced in the last century. The whole series has been remastered in HD, and you can preorder it today (with low price guarantee) for $110. It was $160 or more until today, and we don’t know if it’ll shoot back up. [Preorder The Wire: The Complete Series, $110]

Update 2: Looks like it’s back!
Update: Sold out for now, but Amazon occasionally comes back in stock quickly. Keep checking back.
I use a Swiffer WetJet to clean my kitchen and bathroom floors every weekend, and it works well given how dead-simple and convenient it is. If you don’t own one, for $10, why not? [Swiffer WetJet Starter Kit, $10 after $5 coupon]

If you still listen to any of your TVs through their built-in speakers, a decent sound bar is the best upgrade you can make. This refurbished Vizio model includes Bluetooth to stream music from your phone as well, and is only $70 today on eBay. The same model (also refurbished) goes for $90 on Amazon with solid reviews. [Refurb Vizio S3820w-C0 38″ 2.0 Bluetooth Home Theater Sound, $70]

The Canon EOS 70D is a fantastic mid-range DSLR, particularly if you plan to shoot some video, and you can grab one with a kit lens for just $799 today. Incredibly, that’s a full $350 less than Amazon’s current going rate of $1149, which is itself the lowest price they’ve ever listed. [Canon EOS 70D with 18-55mm Lens, $799]

We’ve found a couple of solid deals on creative lighting solutions for your home. First up, these TaoTronics copper wire string lights are more decorative than functional, but they’d be great for lighting up a patio or some outdoor furniture. Plus, their 4.7 star review average is stellar. [TaoTronics Led String Starry Light Copper Wire Lights, $13 with code YIGTGMAC]

Next up, we have an old favorite returning. The OxyLED T-01 touch light sticks on any surface, and turns on and off with a light touch of your finger. It’s not motion sensing like some similar night lights we’ve posted in the past, but I love using these under cabinets and in dark closets. Today on Amazon, you can buy two and save, or buy three and save even more. [ OxyLED T-01 DIY Stick-on Anywhere 4-LED Touch Tap Light, get two for $14 with code 2T011399 or three for $19 with code 3T011899]

Amazon’s offering a 20% off coupon on a nice collection of snacks and cookies today. Your choices include Ritz Chips, Oreos, Chips Ahoy, and more, so you should have no trouble finding something you’ll like. Note that many of the products are sold in bulk, so be sure you have room to store them for awhile. [Amazon Snack Sale]
Note: The coupon is an additional 20% off the listed price. Your discount won’t show up until the final checkout screen.

We don’t see discounted gas station gift cards very often, but when we do, they usually sell out quickly. At today’s prices, this works out to roughly four gallons of regular unleaded basically for free. [$100 ExxonMobil Gift Card, $90]

Depending on who you ask, Pixelmator might just be the best image editor you can get for your Mac (yes, including Photoshop). And given everything it can do, it’s is an incredible value at its normal price of $30 up front, and an absolute steal at 50% off. [Pixelmator, $15]

It’s a law of the universe that the standard 3′ cable your iPhone comes with is going to be a few inches shorter than you need it to be. Today though, you can get not one, but two double-length Lightning cables for the price of one of Apple’s. [2x iClever 6′ Lightning Cables, $19. Add two to cart and use code YXMIO47M]

Anker is getting into the smartphone dash mount game with their newly-released air vent mount, and you can grab one for $10, complete with a free 4′ AUX cable to connect your phone to your speakers. This doesn’t have many reviews yet, but we’ve had nothing but good experiences with Anker products in the past, so I imagine it’ll be of good quality. [Anker Smartphone Air Vent Mount + 4′ AUX Cable, $10. Add both to cart and use code MMAREACZ]

Want to add Bluetooth streaming and hands-free calling to the mix? This inexpensive kit has everything you need. [SoundBot SB360 Bluetooth 4.0 Car Kit Hands-Free Wireless Talking & Music Streaming Dongle, $15]

This microfiber towel is considered by many detailing aficionados to be the best for drying off your car. I own it, and can confirm that it’s less a towel as much as a towel-shaped sponge. [Meguiar’s X2000 Microfiber Drying Towel, $7]

Want your deals the old fashioned way? Sign up for this IFTTT recipe to get a digest of all our posts sent to your email every afternoon.

Tech
Storage
Power
Headphones
Home Theater
Computers & Accessories
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 Core i7, 8GB, 256GB, 12″ Win 8.1 Tablet ($1200) | eBay
Apple Core i5, 4GB, 128GB SSD, 13.3″ MacBook Air ($800) | Best Buy
Alienware Alpha Core i3, GeForce, 4GB, 500GB Steam Machine Ready Gaming Computer ($430) | Dell | Use code CZVNPH5T
Lenovo AMD A8, Radeon, 6GB, 500GB, Win 8.1, 15.6″ Laptop ($250) | Best Buy
LG 27-Inch 5ms HDMI LED LCD IPS Monitor ($170) | Newegg
Acer G7 24-Inch LED LCD Monitor ($120) | Newegg | After promo code EMCARAK22
refurb Acer 24-Inch LED Monitor ($113) | Walmart
refurb Logitech Z323 30 Watts (RMS) 2.1 Speaker System ($25) | Newegg
LapGear MyDesk ($9) | Amazon
PC Parts
Phones and Tablets
Photography
Home
Kitchen
Fitness

Apparel
Misc.
Camping & Outdoors
Tools
Auto
Kids

Follow us for the best deals on the Internet, and check out http://t.co/w8ke7mw7nT
— Kinja Deals (@KinjaDeals) June 9, 2014

Commerce covers the best products on Kinja Gear, finds you deals on those products on Kinja Deals, and asks you about your favorites on Kinja Co-Op, click here to learn more. We operate independently of Editorial and Advertising, and if you buy something through our posts, we may get a small share of the sale. We want your feedback.Send deal submissions to Deals@Gawker and all other inquiries to Shane@Gawker

Follow this link: Today's Best Deals: Great Looking Headphones, Free Gas, and a Lot More

No products found.

These Sony Premium Noise Canceling Headphones Have Never Been Cheaper

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on These Sony Premium Noise Canceling Headphones Have Never Been Cheaper
Mar 302015
 

If you’ve been itching for a good pair of noise canceling headphones, you’re not going to find better bang for your buck than this pair of Sony MDR-10RNCs for $125.

For a point of comparison, these legitimately sell for $200+ on any given day, and Amazon has never had them for less than $172 until today’s Gold Box deal. They also look great, run for 20 hours on a single AAA battery, and have solid user reviews. I think the coolest feature though is a free smartphone app that lets you customize the functions of the in-line remote.
Audiophiles will also want to check out the higher-end Sony MDR1RNCs for $238, more than $100 off its usual price, and another all-time low.

Again, this is a Gold Box deal, so this price is only available today, but it could definitely sell out early. [Sony Premium Noise Canceling Headphones, 238]
More Deals

Commerce covers the best products on Kinja Gear, finds you deals on those products on Kinja Deals, and asks you about your favorites on Kinja Co-Op, click here to learn more. We operate independently of Editorial and Advertising, and if you buy something through our posts, we may get a small share of the sale. We want your feedback.

Follow us for the best deals on the Internet, and check out http://t.co/w8ke7mw7nT
— Kinja Deals (@KinjaDeals) June 9, 2014

See the original post: These Sony Premium Noise Canceling Headphones Have Never Been Cheaper

No products found.